Post on Apr 05, 2022


The legislature unlike other institutions of government is peculiar and dynamic in nature. The legislature is structured in such a way that there is a Political and Administrative Heads respectively.

The political structure of the House is headed by Mr. Speaker, assisted by other principal officers. The Speaker of the House is the presiding officer of the House, but in the absence of Mr. Speaker, the Deputy Speaker performs all the duties and functions of the Speaker.

The principal officers of the House includes:

1. The Speaker

2. The Deputy Speaker

3. The Majority leader

4. The Minority Leader

5. The Chief whip

6. The Deputy majority Leader

7. The Deputy Chief whip

8. The Majority whip

9. The Deputy Majority whip



The administrative structure of the House is headed by the Clerk of the House. The Clerk is the Chief Administrative Officer and head of Service of the legislature.

The Clerk and the Deputy Clerk of the House are appointed by the Speaker and principal officers of the House. The Clerk of the House reports to Mr. Speaker on the day to day activities of the House. In the absence of the Clerk of the House, his duties shall be performed by the Deputy Clerk of the House.


The office of the Clerk of the House is structured into four divisions, under the direct supervision of the Deputy Clerk of the House.

1. Medical Health Services

2. Security

3. Transportation

4. Audit

The four divisions are headed by deputy directors.


The Clerk is assisted by other departments headed by Directors in the administration of the House. They are:

1. The Legislative matters department

2. The Administration department

3. The Legal services department

4. Planning Research and statistics Department

5. Finance ,accounts and procurement department

6. Publication department

7. Information and protocol department

8. Maintenance ,works and technical services department


The sergeant at- arms is the mace bearer of the House. The mace is the symbol of Authority of the House. Basically the sergeant at-arms is the Chief Security Officer of the House and is under the office of the Clerk of the House

Post on Mar 22, 2022


What are Committees?


The House Committees are largely concerned with examining the work of government Ministries, Departments, Agencies. Some Committees have a role that criss-cross Departmental boundaries such as the Public Accounts or the Public Petitions, depending on the issue under consideration. They can look at any or all of the government Departments.





The House have five special Committees namely:


·        The Committee of Selection;


·        Committee on Rules, Business, Ethics, Privileges, Legal and Judicial Matters;


·        Committee on House Services/Women Affairs and Social Development;


·        Committee on Public Accounts and


·        Committee on Public Petitions.


The House also have other Committee known as Standing Committees which are also constituted at the beginning of the Assembly, some of the Committees are;


·        Committee on Education


·        Committee on Establishment and Special Duties


·        Committee on lands, Survey and Urban Development


·        Committee on Water Resources


·        Committee on Power and Energy


·        Committee on Agriculture and Natural Resources


·        Committee on Trade and Investment


·        Committee on Health


·        Committee on Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs


·        Committee on Finance and Appropriations


·        Committee on Environment, Oil and Gas


·        Committee on Peace and Security


·        Committee on Information, Arts Services, Culture and Tourism


·        Committee on House Services


·        Committee on Works


·        Committee on Youths and Sport Development


·        Committee on Delta State Oil Producing Areas Development Commission (DESOPADEC)


·        Committee on Asaba Capital Territory Development Agency


·        Committee on Warri/Uvwie and environs Development Agency


·        Special Committee on Bills


The House may appoint any other Special Committee to perform such duties as the need may arise.


           When do Committee meet?


There are usually committee meetings taking place in the House on Mondays and Fridays which are set aside as Committee Sittings. However Committees may also meet on any other day in the afternoons after Plenary. Each Committee will typically meet once a week, although some committees will meet twice if they are particularly busy.


           Do all Committees hold Public Sessions?


Yes – all committees take evidence in Public with very few exceptions. A typical session will see the committee meet privately for a short period before the evidence – taking begins, at which point members of the Public are invited in with the witnesses.


           Where do I go to watch a Committee meeting?


Committee meetings are usually held in committee rooms. The House have five (5) committee rooms and a Press Centre which is usually used for committee meetings with large number of witnesses and guests. Visitors should arrive not earlier than one hour before the committee session is scheduled to begin but, need to allow at least 20 minutes to pass through security and to be directed to the appropriate committee room.





©2022 Association of Local Governments of Nigeria(ALGON). All Rights Reserved. Designed by

Please publish modules in offcanvas position.